In memorium

My father, Rex Adkins, passed away yesterday. It is hard to be so far away at this time. We will miss him, but I am glad that he is at peace.

Published by

Madeleine Adkins

I'm a linguist and a writer, with a passion for the Breton language, Celtic languages in general, and endangered language communities who engage in revitalization efforts. I've published some articles about the Breton language situation in some academic journals, and I'm planning to publish more in the near future. I spent most of the last decade moving around--first to Santa Barbara (grad school), then Colorado (teaching), and then Brittany (researching the Breton language revitalization movement and improving my Breton speaking skills)--and now I'm in the San Francisco Bay Area. Even though I am living far from Brittany at this point, I still keep in touch with my friends and colleagues in the Breton-speaking world, and I'm still involved in language revitalization issues.

6 thoughts on “In memorium”

  1. Oh goodness! I’m so sorry to hear this for the sake of all of you whom I know will be pained at his passing. I was in Japan when my grandfather passed in South Carolina. It’s very hard to deal with the distance and separation from family at a time like this. A big hug. -B.

Leave a comment