I was on TV / En tele e oan

I was on TV this week. Pretty exciting. I’ve only been on TV twice before in my life. And it’s certainly the first time I’ve spoken Breton in any type of public forum.

As I mentioned in a previous post, one day a TV crew showed up at school to interview us. We had no warning, and just a little time to practice what we wanted to say. This was back in early November, so we didn’t speak as well as we do now and needed to use a particularly advanced verb form, so the practice was necessary.

The interviewer, Anna Quéré, asked us what our wishes were for the new year. The program, called Red an Amzer, is one of the very few Breton language programs on TV, and Anna is one of the hosts. She’s even more dynamic in person than she is on the screen.

I’m imagining that most of you reading this are not regular viewers of France 3, and you’ve probably never seen Red an Amzer before. Well, you’re in luck if you want to see me on TV, because it turns out that they offer the videos online for a few weeks.

Here’s the link:

http://jt.france3.fr/regions/popup.php?id=e44g_redanamzer

You can watch it online or download it. (Downloading the whole 25-minute program takes a bit of time, so I don’t recommend doing that unless you really want to keep it.) Our segment is near the beginning, right after the hosts’ opening chit-chat. My moment of glory is about 2 minutes and 20 seconds into the show. I have to say, they didn’t film my good side and I do look a bit nervous, but heck, I’m just happy to have made the cut. (Some classmates’ comments apparently ended up on the cutting room floor, because only 5 of us are in the segment, mixed in with some other folks.) If you make your way through the whole program, there are other interesting segments, including an interview with a Chinese author who lives in France, and a profile of people who have chosen to become traditional bakers.

What was my wish for 2011? In case your Breton is rusty, here’s what I say: that I would like to be able to introduce the Breton language to people in the U.S. (En 2011, e karfen degas brezhoneg d’an dud er Stadoù-Unanet.) So, between the blog and my TV moment, it looks like the year is off to a good start.

Bloavezh mat ! (Happy new year!)

Published by

Madeleine Adkins

I'm a linguist and a writer, with a passion for the Breton language, Celtic languages in general, and endangered language communities who engage in revitalization efforts. I've published some articles about the Breton language situation in some academic journals, and I'm planning to publish more in the near future. I spent most of the last decade moving around--first to Santa Barbara (grad school), then Colorado (teaching), and then Brittany (researching the Breton language revitalization movement and improving my Breton speaking skills)--and now I'm in the San Francisco Bay Area. Even though I am living far from Brittany at this point, I still keep in touch with my friends and colleagues in the Breton-speaking world, and I'm still involved in language revitalization issues.

6 thoughts on “I was on TV / En tele e oan”

  1. Happy New Year, Madeleine!

    I went back to Japan for three weeks. It gave me enough time to enjoy there and recharge myself.

    It’s amazing that you were on TV already twice and this is the third one!

    Keiko

      1. Akemashite omedetou gozaimasu!

        It’s nice that you enjoy the town and the language 🙂

        I was talking to my French co-worker today and she was telling me her mother was going to move to Brittany this summer. But neither of them speak Breton. I was telling her about you and she was surprised to hear that. It was interesting to hear about Brittany from my co-worker 🙂

      2. Thank you, Keiko, for your comments!
        That’s cool that you know someone moving to Brittany. Well, it’d be great if she spoke Breton, but of course you don’t really hear it on the street here, so she’ll do fine here without it. What part of Brittany is she moving to?

Leave a Reply

